What a crazy few days... But I finally made it to camp!!!!!!!
Sunday was a little rough. Saying goodbye is never fun. But Monday, we left and drove to camp!! We had a little fun when we had a tire blow out about 75 miles from camp... But thanks to Ray's Tire Pile and AAA, we made it back onto the road.
Tuesday... We woke up and had breakfast and stuff, and then we had "activity meetings" AKA I sat and played in Arts and Crafts with their staff. After lunch, we got ready for Orr all -staff overnight, and by 4, we headed out. We went to Turkey Pen, which was a really good choice. It doesn't have the crazy altitude of the Parkway, and it was much more covered when it started to rain. It was fun, and a nice 15 minute downhill hike. The good thing is, it didn't start raining until we finally got our tarps up. We climbed into bed and chatted and stuff, and finally all fell asleep.
Wednesday we came home from Turkey Pen, which was quite as easy of a hike home than it was to the vans, but that's ok. Then my friendie Helena got here and instead of showering, I talked to her. Then lunch and then a SHOWER!!! It's always so nice to shower after a day in the woods. Then for some reason, Dave decided we needed to learn to light a camping stove? And to light a fire. Who knows. Anyway, yeah. J Street for dinner, and then phone call with mommy while Angie got gelato.
Today... I got nothing. I slept late, had brunch, and then sat by the lake with Angie and roasted. Like, I'm a new lobster. It doesn't hurt though, so that's good!! Yay for days off!! No plans for tonight except maybe Skype with the boy? But probably not, because I'm totally fine until I see his face, and then I break down and cry. Which is ridiculous, so maybe that won't happen. We shall see.
Tomorrow we're off again, because I'm not taking Wilderness First Aid. Yay!!!
Until... The next time.
:)
No comments:
Post a Comment